New Zealand ready for spin challenge in Bangladesh T20Is thumbnail

New Zealand ready for spin challenge in Bangladesh T20Is

Bangladesh will be
looking for a famous new scalp when they take on a weakened New Zealand side in
a T20I series starting on Wednesday.

Bangladesh beat Australia 4-1 in a T20 series this month on
the back of strong bowling performances, and New Zealand are expecting the home
side’s spin and slow seam lineup to be on the offensive once again.

Another series win would be a big boost for Bangladesh ahead
of the T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, starting in less than two

New Zealand are ranked third in the world and Bangladesh
tenth in T20s.

The home side have never beaten their opponents in a T20 in
ten attempts. New Zealand won the only one of those games played on Bangladesh
territory, by 15 runs in 2013.

But since then, Bangladesh have become a tough proposition
at home.

An injury-hit Australia found out just how difficult
Bangladesh’s slow bowlers can be when they crashed to defeat in a series
against them for the first time this month.

New Zealand, who do not have any members of their T20 World
Cup squad taking part, are ready for a similar strategy.

“We have a perception of how we think they will play
based on having a look at it, and the recent Australia series,” said
stand-in coach Glenn Pocknall.

“We are probably preparing for a slow and low wicket
like the Australia series. We are not used to that. But if it has a bit more
pace and bounce, we will be quite happy with that.”

Bangladesh, however, said they are not taking victory for

Batting coach Ashwell Prince said New Zealand would also use
the Australia series to prepare their counter-tactics.

“They are a street-wise team who would plan
meticulously against every batsmen, bowlers and pitches,” he said.

“They will use every bit of information to help

Bangladesh have been bolstered by the return of Mushfiqur
Rahim and Liton Das, who missed the Australia series due to strict Covid-19

The matches will be held behind closed doors on September 1,
3, 5, 8 and 10 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Bangladesh squad

Mahmudullah Riyad, (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim,
Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain, Naim Sheikh, Nurul
Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed,
Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam
Biplob, Nasum Ahmed

New Zealand squad

Tom Latham (capt), Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Doug
Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole
McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Blair
Tickner, Will Young

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.